Yuans Blog Posts Submission- Perception of Digital Realities & Believable Characters- Part 2

Class Notes-

IMG_3040

For this part of the post I will be exploring the perception of digital realities in animation. Firstly I will be looking at figurative and embodied animation. To which the lecture described to us a short film on Logos that are meant for something else but aren’t.

In this short the lecturer specifically made reference to Ronald McDonald and how he was created to be McDonalds mascot and completely turned into something else. I believe this was due to the bad influence this was having on the children as this was encouraging young children to eat in an unhealthy matter which then if becomes a pattern which will then lead into obesity again making reference to a consistent pattern and conditioning.

Next we began exploring Tolkiens essay on fairy stories: Illusion of Depth to which we learned how language, history and culture play a huge factor in our reality today. Our lecturers suggested it was a good read and to check it out. (I found a PDF link online that I plan to explore later in the semester when I have time).

Reference- http://brainstorm-services.com/wcu-2004/fairystories-tolkien.pdf

Next we began talking about cognitive decoupling which is the contact between the director and the audience. We were exploring accepting the realities in films and not really second guessing whats happening unless you see it as being physically impossible in the real world. (This is when the perception of that reality breaks).

This video reference above talks about photo realism and how its impacting us today through the problem Blender which is a free software similar to Maya. He explains to us the importance of photo realism in film especially Hollywood and for commercial use.

I think here Ridley Scott has made a very good point on how being aware of how something is made e.g. CGI makes viewer aware that its not real its fake and the example he gave on horror films not being scary anymore I would completely agree with him on that point as an avid horror genre watcher and have been for years I know exactly how he feels because I’m about film I understand whats happening and when its going to happen and how its going to happen and its the overall thrill of the whole experience away.

This then to me leads into the Uncanny Valley on how far things can really be taken before they’ve been took to far and seem unrealistic or from the reference above simply fake. (Knowing what your seeing isn’t real).

mori-uncanny-valley

The last area we explored was called Sweetie-

Who is made completely through CGI to catch online predators. To me this was the weirdest one we looked at as she looks like a real girl in the real world not just a digital version of a little girl.

Overall I found this lecture to be extremely interesting it felt complex as the lecturer was describing the perception of reality but I was able to keep up and write notes. I found the lecture hard to follow at times as he would tangent but overall an enjoyable lecture.

References-