Animated Short- WW1 Exterior Lighting Research

I’ve been assigned to work with Caitlin on the exterior lighting of the trenches and no mans land. This is something I’m slightly anxious about as I’m not overly talented at lighting but I’m excited to learn new things.

This is something I’ve looked into in the past and have tried using as well I think image based lighting will definitely help aid the scenes in getting the light just right for each shot. I plan on using the website below for free HDRI’s for either night/day I will need further collaboration from the team to ensure what feel they are looking for.

I decided to use HDRI’s Haven for my skydome and it was quite easy to place-

https://hdrihaven.com/hdri/?c=night&h=satara_night

I think I needed to go back to the basics for this task so I found a tutorial to help me do that. As I have little experience in this area of Maya I thought it’d be best to start over and take it step by step. Also I think this tutorial will help me showcase future models I plan on doing over the break.

I looked into Battlefield 1 for inspiration as I’ve never played games I thought this game was best suitable for what I was trying to achieve in terms of the lighting with the blues, oranges and white.

Images-

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the overall I wanted to achieve below are some screenshots I had done. As my group file was not working I decided to go ahead and start so I could make progress.

These were my first attempt and I was extremely unhappy with the outcome so I decided there was much improvement made.

I think these are much better but I’m still not completely happy with them they might be too dark, so I’m going to talk to Caitlin on what she thinks needs changed as we are working together. Hopefully we can get the scene fixed so I can see what it will look like with textures.

When trying to reload all of the textures back in my GPU exceeded and it couldn’t do it so hopefully it’ll work on the others computers I will just have to send a file in with just the lights I’m actually throughly disappointed because I just wanted to do my work.

Okay after all of that finally got somewhere with the help of Alec who was kind enough to send us a video on how to fix are problem( To which I am so grateful for) and after some problem solving myself I was able to fix my ram problem with the video I found on Youtube.

Below are my updated textured lighting attempts-

I really like these versions of the scene I did I don’t have much experience in lighting but so far the group really like what I’ve produced after Caitlin’s finished messing with my lights I will add updated versions of the final versions.

Leave a comment