Life Drawing Semester 2

Here will be all of my life drawing work throughout the semester from weeks 1-12 –

Week 1-

To start off the first semester we did quick gesture drawings to get back into the flow of things. Then we used India Ink and brushes for the rest of the class which I really enjoyed as it gave you the chance to experience a new medium. This also gave you a chance to have a more stylized gestures as it gives you more control on the lines you want to produce to get an effect you want. Also my homework is included.

Week 2-

This week the homework was closely related to the classwork we were about to do which I had realised earlier that morning,this made me very worried for class as I am terrible at life drawing. But once the class started I began to relax and just did what I could. It actually turns out that I really enjoyed the class particularly when we had to rotate around the room I found this really fun and a great way to learn how to do the head rotation. Once you got over the fact of destroying someone else’s piece you just got to work and did what you could to help finish the piece.

In classwork-

Homework-

360 Degree Headturn-

This is probably the worst thing I’ve ever made but I’m actually really proud of myself as this is my first piece of solo animation ever.

-Headturn-Around=Gif

Inspiration-

 

References- Mr.Burns Image  Mr.Burns Gif

My design process-

new

Yep I can’t draw, here is an “Improved version” –

Yeah1

While researching this topic I found two books that were very helpful to me during this homework assignment below are the pages to which I am referencing-

These pages are taken from the Animator’s Notebook by Tony White. This pages were very helpful as I was able to get a better understanding of what we discussed within class particularly the flipping exercise and the neck movemets these sketches helped me get a better understanding of what I had to do. However I still don’t think I did the homework right but I tried my best.

Week 4-

This week we did quick gesture drawings for 15 minutes and this week I feel like I improved within fluid movements as I let the pressure go and just let the conte flow without me thinking too much (overthinking it).

Then we did a fun exercise were we had to draw Jackie in action the scene was as if her hat was blown of within the wind. I actually really enjoyed this exercise and hope we do ones similar to this in the future.

We also did not receive any homework this week.

Week 5-

Point of Balance. Unfortunately I was unable to attend this class due to the weather conditions (Snow), but after asking around my classmates they said that we had homework which was to draw 5 figure poses including the line of balance. As I had no idea what this was I began my research to get a better understanding of what this term meant below is the video that I tried to follow for my homework and failed miserably.

Below is that homework-

Below is pages from another book called Timing for animation I understand the point of balance is more about gravity but the diagrams within this book showed great examples of what the point of balance is. Shown below is the sketches I’ve mentioned-

Week??-

I’m lost track of what week we were on  it’s been so long that we had an actual life drawing sessions but here is the work from this week. This week we focused on the walk cycle this exercise was actually quite fun, I don’t think I was doing it right but I gave it my best attempt. This is also was a hint to what was to come with Alec’s 3D literacy class when we were assigned the task of creating 4 walk cycles. This really helped when doing this task also.

Below is that work-

The next life drawing class after this was the Zoo trip which was extremely fun. Below are some of the pictures I took-

Zoo Sketches-

This was then used to create my character of which I had to chose 4 animals from the zoo I had chosen the Flamingo, Ostrich, Biesbok and Lemur. I had a lot of fun creating this character and when I was finished he looked like a deranged Kevin from Up.

Below is the turn around-

IMG_0943

Below is my character in pose-

img_0947.jpg

IMG_0945

For this final exercise I used a book called Cartoon Animation by Preston Blair which I got in the Library this book was definitely a good read and was extremely useful in creating the poses of my character.

Reflection of year is on Zoo trip post.

 

Leave a comment