Motion Graphics Project!

For this project we are to make a 15-30 second indent/advert of our choice. We are to look into other 2D/3D motion graphics artists to build are knowledge of the medium. What I hope to achieve by the end of this project is enough knowledge to forward this information into my showreel.

As I have already used this medium before in my foundation year I hope I can pick up this work quite quickly as I know the other project is of vital importance. Also knowing what I intend to do with my personal project has me slightly worried that I will buckle under the pressure or strive from it but when we were participating in week zero Kristina said better to have tried then not tried at all. Hopefully all will go well and it won’t come to that.

First I intend to look up what motion graphics is? What software they are created on? and of course artists relevant to the task.

What is motion graphics?-

“Motion graphics are pieces of digital footage or animation which create the illusion of motion or rotation, and are usually combined with audio for use in multimedia projects. Motion graphics are usually displayed via electronic media technology, but may also be displayed via manual powered technology.”

Source- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motion_graphics

My understanding of this term is that whatever I create has to have flow, has to have direction, the method I intend to use is still undetermined I am probably limited by the apps I have access to but with the amount of time I will be university I might be able to get access to the computers in house.

What software to use?-

Adobe seems to be the way to go in terms of application for motion graphics with apps such as Illustrator, After Effects, Photoshop and Premier.

I have 3/4 of these apps so hopefully I will be able to create something of substance. I think this time around I need to dedicate my time more efficiently over the 3 projects as that’s what’s tripped me up over the last semester was I had priorities wrong. So this semester I aim to better myself.

View examples-

https://vimeo.com/77149266

https://vimeo.com/54275813

https://vimeo.com/155721152

https://vimeo.com/83932851

Above is a few examples of motion graphics made through after effects that I really liked and aim to strive for with my own indent that I will create later in the semester. What I learnt from these videos is the trend of liquid motion in the graphics, which is something that I intend to look into as it looks like a fun method to practice. I know that simplistic is the main key to this project as it is only 15% I know that what I produce has to have a simple feel to it.

I will now look into artists that are relevant to the task at hand.

Reflection-

Looking back over this post I have learnt a lot from this class. Bob is an excellent teacher and has helped me a lot through this part of the course I take his advice under advisement and try to implement it to the best of my ability.

At the start of this project I was quite nervous to start this part as I’ve never really used after effects before and wasn’t too sure the results would be what I’d want them to be or if they would be of enough quality to even pass this section but as I’ve progressed I feel confident that I will complete this section to a standard that I will feel happy with.

Leave a comment