Animated Short- Bravery Ideation

Starting off this project I started to think through what makes people brave?, where do people find courage? Some website’s were quite useful as I didn’t know how to explore this term in relations to film or in ordinary life. I basically drew a blank and didn’t know where to start so I began to research.

Links-

From these links I was able to explore different areas of what it takes to be brave, somethings that I never would of thought due to them being simple and trivial things that you wouldn’t necessarily think off as being brave below is the notes I took from various websites however I thought the two above were the most influential to me so I included them.

Notes-

IMG_0364

Some of these ideas I explored further and some I wrote down in case my other teammates took interest in them and could maybe spark a story upon hearing the idea. Sometimes I get ideas from drawings other teammates have done or an idea they have also pitched to the group.

This happen during our first session Caitlin had doodled a little bat that looked scared and I can’t remember who said it but someone stated that he was afraid of the dark and this sparked our idea for the little bat that could. What we explored in the chat was that he was afraid of the dark but needed a reason not too we haven’t worked this out yet but the premise is there.

Class notes-

IMG_2153

Caitlin and I discussed him having head gear and a scarf basically his little head gear would a light devise that would help him navigate in the dark (As he’s afraid of the unknown). Some ideas where knocked around of how would the audience know he was afraid of the dark an idea suggested by Aaron was that he would be out sunbathing an idea that I had would be that he would be in his little house whether it be in a cave or an attic but the sun would start to set and basically a shadow would start to form around him and he would start to panic beginning to light all of his candles, shaking up his fireflies basically getting light from where ever he is.

That’s where we got to for Friday we are creating story boards, looking in environment and concepts. Then we will decided what to do for the final storyboard and hopefully start the next stage of the project.

 

Leave a comment