Life Drawing Week 9-10

Week 9 – 23/11/17

This week we were focusing on Dirk this week as we were focusing more on Dirk and not Mim and I actually found it quite easy as I struggle with Jackie I’m not sure why but I prefer to draw Robert. I’m actually quite happy with the outcome this week I really enjoyed the class, once you learn to relax and be more open to being loose I feel that I actually see some progress.

My Work Week 9-

As we normally do we do 20 gesture poses at about one pose per minute which this which I actually really enjoyed doing this week Robert used a box in various positions which really helped me in getting the perspective right. Then Mike suggested putting Robert within a box to try to get the proportions right once we actually put Robert in the box I really struggled in seeing where I should place him and it short of made me lose sight of what I was trying to accomplish.

Then we moved on to 5 minute poses of Robert dressed as Dirk these didn’t go to bad but I wish they went better but I’m still pleased with my progress.

My Homework Week 9-

Honestly I really enjoyed this weeks homework we were given the chance to draw an original character which I’ve never done before and would probably never want to try again but will because of how awful it was. I actually really enjoyed the process of creating this character the idea actually came to me from a bus journey home and looked out of the window and noticed the glue from the window panel looked like a shape of a dog so that is where the idea came from.

The next step was coming up with a design for the character so I decided to use my dog Hunter which actually was he funniest experience ever trying to get him in positions that would look interesting but after that idea failed I gave up and let him basically go wild so I quickly sketched down his gesture and then filled him in later.

Week 10 -30/11/12

This week we were to draw are character as the model but this was a struggle to me because my character was a dog, I think this really effected my class time as I couldn’t do the work but this week I’m trying to get a better character design so when and if we do it again I can have a better experience.

My Work Week 10-

As you can see this did not go successful but I don’t want this to hinder my progress. What we did was 20 minute gesture drawings and 5 minute poses of our character unfortunately the class ended early but hopefully I can get better results in the next class. This week we were also assigned a new task of creating  a reflective essay for the 15th of December 2017 which only had to be 500 words minimum that is why there is no homework for week 10.

Leave a comment