Yuans Blog Post Submission- Perception of Digital Realities & Believable Characters! – Part 1

Class Notes-

IMG_3040

I found this class very confusing but at the same time very intriguing so I have chosen to explore this topic further for the submission.

Reference-https://medium.com/the-mission/this-is-how-perception-creates-your-reality-d9d46aeb64e2

In this article they talked about how perception creates your reality which I found very intriguing as this topic is what I will be investigating to get a better understanding. To me this topic is very confusing as there our a lot of opinions and views on this topic so what I plan to do is research further into my notes and from what I find I will  interpret them to what I think/belief and that will be what this post is about.

In this article they explore 3 areas-

“Your mind constructed models”(Fahkry 2018)-

“Author Gregory Berns states in Iconoclast, “Perception is the brain’s way of interpreting ambiguous visual signals in the most likely explanation possible. These explanations are a direct result of past experience.” (Fahkry 2018).

This section of the article explores how your past experiences will forever alter your reality no matter what you do as this is the way you were conditioned from birth. e.g. presuming someones lazy because they don’t take the stairs but in reality they have a sprained ankle and can’t (that’s your conditioning taking effect, you are conditioned to automatically believe that this person is lazy so you don’t second guess yourself or give the person the benefit of the doubt as you simply believe your right and that’s that.

So basically you create your own reality as your reality is based on your experiences. It also explores how you accept your reality by developing these environments that in turn you accept because you have to justify what you do. (To me a person will always justify their reality in spite of others/situations as I believed we are programmed to look out for oneself and sometimes never question what we are given without question).

A great example of this would be The Truman Show –

Truman-Show

In this scene above Truman has noticed a change in his reality as the radio transmissions get mixed up and he starts to realise that his reality has altered into something that he has never experienced before and doesn’t quite know how to handle the situation as he hasn’t been conditioned so his reactions are completely his own and aren’t prompted.

Overall the theme of the film is about realities and the perception of what makes the perfect reality as the creator has created a world for Truman where nothing bad happens to him and from what we see nothing ever does, Trumans life is systematic and in truth is a reality that someone has created that doesn’t really exist in the world today. (The world isn’t perfect and trying to portray that it could be is a lie as I don’t think the world could ever be what this creator wanted the world to be positive.)

To me there is an argument that could be had of whether Truman was conditioned to the world or did the world condition to Truman? or did they go hand in? this is a question I’m not 100% sure of the answer.

I do however believe that Truman was conditioned to the world for most of it. He was given his reality and ran with it he didn’t know it was all a lie so his reactions and judgements couldn’t be altered he was being who he was in the situations that he was given. As Truman was never conditioned to quote on quote “Bad” situations Truman never had responses that we would usually see so at the end of the film he used basic instinct fight or flight and he chose flight.

Next section suggested that “Judgements impair perception”- (Fahkry 2018).

This particular section of the article looks into jumping to conclusions and presuming your always right and never wrong. To which I would some what disagree on this as in certain situations in my life I have known that I was 100% wrong on something particularly with my university work as I always presume I’m wrong even if I’m right on everything. But then again I always state when fighting with my siblings that the eldest is always right so how does that work? Is that conditioning? was i conditioned to believe I was always right? I’m not 100% sure.

Next they talked about “Conscious Creator”- (Fahkry 2018).

“Often we don’t realize that our attitude toward something has been influenced by the number of times we have been exposed to it in the past.” — Robert B. Cialdini”-(Fahkry 2018)

I liked this part of the article as it explores the idea of you will never truly know the full story you will only see/accept what you’ve been given.

The next topic our lecturer went over the construction of reality which I’ve decided to research the social constructions of reality. While researching this topic I have noticed how we are socially comes into play a lot and I think this will correspond to the information I have researched above.

https://courses.lumenlearning.com/sociology/chapter/social-constructions-of-reality/

Above is a article that I will be reviewing and giving my opinion on. “Habitualization describes how “any action that is repeated frequently becomes cast into a pattern, which can then be … performed again in the future in the same manner and with the same economical effort” (Berger and Luckmann 1966)”. (Fahkry 2018).

I found this quote interesting as it agrees with the statements made above as they too mention how the past conditions the future due to habit (Conditioning) and states a pattern (repetition of the same act) that will be passed down onto the next generation in some shape or form. To me this makes sense as we except what we are given and never question the possibility that we are wrong (Giving someone the benefit of the doubt is never are first reaction we will always assume the worst first.)

There next topic they covered was roles and statuses within society that construct are behavior/responses. “Sociologists use the term status to describe the responsibilities and benefits that a person experiences according to their rank and role in society.” (Fahkry 2019). Here they talked about how some of these statuses are ascribed and some of them you achieve and the roles that either come with or are expected of you now that you’ve reached this goal.

They also explore how we look, speak, appear in general in society affects us even if we don’t think that it does. If you wear something completely out of the norm in terms of what considered “Normal” you know and understand the type of reaction you are going to receive when you leave the house again with the quote below we always concern about how people are going to perceive us. (Even if you think you don’t care about how people think about you, there’s a small chance when your out you will notice looks and you will accept that you are dressing a certain way).

“We imagine how we must appear to others, then react to this speculation. We don certain clothes, prepare our hair in a particular manner, wear makeup, use cologne, and the like—all with the notion that our presentation of ourselves is going to affect how others perceive us.” (Fahkry 2019).

This I would consider conditioning as you’ve once been told its not ok to dress like that or simply you will turn heads and not in the way that you would of liked. An example from my own life would be when I wear ripped jeans my grandparents don’t understand why I would spend money on a pair of jeans that have holes in them as to when they were younger and if they got rips in there jeans they went straight to the trash.

As I’ve explored this topic in great depth this will be a two parter this section of my research is simply the perception of reality and overall how its came to be in my opinion based on the research I’ve done. In the next part I will be exploring the animation side of this topic and compare it to the research I have learnt so far.

References-

 

 

Leave a comment