Animation Strategies- 3D Environment- Inspiration Research

In this blog post I’m going to explore the areas that I researched for the 3D environment. I looked at serial killers particularly as they have spiked my interest over the years I like to watch documentaries on their lives and how they came to be what/who they are. Movies that I have explored include various serial killers from years past and tv shows that I have watched since I was a child.

I’m very excited about this project as we are finally looking into an area that I enjoy.

What I first looked at was serial killers such as Jeffrey Dahmer, Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy, Richard Ramirez, The Zodiac, BTK, Tsutomu Miyazaki, Alexander Pichushkin, Charles Cullen, John Haigh and Aileen Wuornos.

All of these people committed various crimes that I took Inspiration from to include props to place within the 3D environment which can be seen below-

As you can see the list I created is quite diverse in terms of what these killers character’s are. To me he is undecided so he has supplies for all types of murder so basically a signature change to keep the police confused and occupied was what I was thinking originally that is why I have an extensive list.

Next I decided to look into some films that were inspired by true events as well others inspired some ideas as listed above –

Some movie posters and stills-

Silence of the Lambs-

Midnight Meat Train-

My friend Dahmer-

Texas Chainsaw Massacre-

The Toybox-

These are just some of the movies that I could think of that really brought though what I wanted are murder shack to convey. But the team has gone a slightly different root to what I thought it could entail I think these references are still quite important for Inspiration.

Reflection-

I think my inspiration research aided me when it came to the modelling section of the project as these documentaries, TV shows and films as I knew what assets needed to be included in our 3D Environment. This research aided me in creating the prop list but also encouraged concept design as I was generating ideas as I was creating the props I was visualising how I would display such items, how they could relate to each other, how they would be placed in relation to each other.

The movies I had selected were chosen based on my first initial idea but I still think there relevant as they have aspects that I have drawn inspiration from. Overall I think this step in the project was initial as it enabled the group to finalise an idea and create a narrative.

Leave a comment