Life Drawing Weeks 1-4

Week One 28/09/2017

This is my work from the start of life drawing the first task we had to do was draw in perspective was are view of a cardboard box. What I realised during this exercise was that my view on perspective was very poor, I have always had a problem with perspective and proportions as when I was in High School I had to do the square grid to ensure that I drew to the correct proportions.

My Work Week One;

As you can see these images are not perfect the first image we did was 3 minutes, the second picture was 5 minutes and the third picture was 10 minutes. We started with 10 then slowly progressed to a shorter time until we had to draw it from memory which wasn’t as hard as I though it to be, having to remember the angles of which it was at wasn’t that difficult what was difficult was having to put the image on the paper.You could remember the way in which the box was sitting and the table angle it wasn’t difficult demonstrating how you viewed the image in front of you it was how you were going to translate it on paper.

Are homework was to look at size arrangements which was between big and small and making the big things seem small. To be honest I found it quite difficult as I wanted it to occur naturally and not have to force it I looked around the university and at home and became sketching what I believed size arrangements meant.

This is my homework Week one:

Week Two 5/10/2017

This week we were with Mike and we looked at Look,See,Think,Draw is are new metaphor for the year. This week we practised drawing squares in space. and practising are circle drawing skills on how to perfect the perfect circle, we then had to keep doing this as are homework and I also had to look at how the Garfield character was drawn due to the fact that I’ve never drawn a character before.

This is my work and homework:

Week 3 12/10/2017

This week the Life Drawing room was double booked so we ended up working in the first year room drawing each other which was actually quite fun. We looked at the S curve and C curve within the body and how to find the line of action within their poses which I found quite difficult. We also looked at putting the human body within a box so that we could get the sizing right while looking at the table so they weren’t overpowering. We also looked at the character Winnie the Pooh to look at his design are homework then was to come up with 5 new versions of Winnie that weren’t on the pose sheet we were given and to practise are boxes.

My Work Week 3:

My Homework Week 3:

Week 4 19/10/2017

This week we were able to go to the Life Drawing Room the first, second and third pose we were given 5 minutes to draw, starting out can be a bit nerve wrecking drawing the human form and having to do so with all of your classmates in close proximity and also being able to see there work I find it hard not to compare yours with them and feeling that you aren’t achieving as well as you would like due to that comparison that you can’t help not make.

My first piece isn’t as accurate as I would have liked but overall I’m quite pleased with it, the second pose I found harder due to the leaning box finding that angle so it was proportionate was difficult and the third pose I  found extremely challenging due to the position that I was in it was an awkward view of her body so when I was attempting to draw her I found it hard due to that lack  of position I think.

My Work:

Then we did 10 minute, 1 minute sketches to quickly draw in the pose and not focusing in on the detail I actually found this exercise fun as it enabled me to be looser in work and more free in not being hung up on the details that I really didn’t need.

My Work:

The Final Pose was of a chair that we had to draw first and then place the model into, when I was first drawing my chair I wanted to get the angles right so I thought back to the metaphor “Look, See, Think, Draw” and really took that into consideration before I started it gave me a chance to really look at what I was going to draw, what I could see around the chair in comparison to the size and how to correctly place the chair within the stage next a box. I really like this one as I think it was OK the only thing I would have changed was the stage I think I elongated the back of the stage, which I only noticed when I had completed the chair.

My Work:

IMG_1155

The homework was to look at Superman and how his head is a cylinder and create 5 different versions of his face for next week, also we had to re-do some boxes and look more closely at Winnie the Pooh.

My Homework:

Overall over the past four weeks I have seen a slight improvement with constant practice I will hopefully get better over the weeks coming.

 

Leave a comment