Life Drawing Week 7-8

Week 7 – 9/11/2017

This week we were focusing on form and gesture while also practising the human form on the stool within the life drawing-room this week in class was very frustrating I don’t know what happened but it felt as if I had completely forgot how to draw from start to finish. I was more looking forward to the class to end because I was just not into it this week.

My Work Week 7-

 

The first drawings we were doing were one minute gesture drawings that we did for about ten minutes. Then we moved on to focusing in on Robert on a chair and we did each pose for about ten minutes. Overall I don’t completely hate what I’ve done I’m just not impressed with what I’ve produced this week I think this could be mainly to not having my full heart in it but I hope to be better next week.

My Homework Week 7-

 

This weeks homework was actually really hard for me I struggled with the new characters as I found their body shapes to be extremely difficult to draw but I didn’t let that stop me and basically did quick sketches of Madam Mim and Dirk to show I tried and did not succeed. Basically every week I just re-do the previous homework’s as Mike stated that in simple terms that practise makes perfect so that’s what I hope to achieve by the end of the 12th week especially with Winnie the Pooh I have grown hate this character since week one as I have failed to draw him every week but I still try.

Week 8- 16/11/2017

This week we were focused on Madam Mim and Dirk while in class and I also did some at home which I found useful when we were in class because I felt it helped me through almost I think it was due to muscle memory. We started as usual with gesture drawings trying to get back into what we were doing over the past weeks. Then we went straight to work by turning are model into Madam Mim which actually wasn’t bad it was actually fun but challenging at the same time for once I actually enjoyed class and didn’t over think what I was doing.

My Work Week 8-

 

The gesture drawings were all one minute for 10 minutes and the poses were all 5 minute poses which I absolutely love because I enjoyed the class for the first week I think what held me back the other weeks was myself as I think I spent too much time in my head I over think about what I want to portray in the gestures I was drawing.

My Homework Week 8-

 

This week I felt more confident in my drawing especially with Winnie I’m starting to think I’m seeing improvement in myself as I’m able to complete the sketches in quicker pace instead of getting to get stuck on being perfect.

Leave a comment