Animated Short Personal- Development Modelling-Portfolio Page

For the development section I will be presenting the work that I contributed to the team for the animated short . Using references I was able to create these models below the appropriate links to where I located the image from will also be referenced below. Also for the colour versions the group decided together on which colour palette we should use to colour are scenes it will also be referenced below.

Colour Palette-

Colour Palette Animated Short

Link- https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/524247212862763347/?lp=true

Doughnut Hut- This was my favourite piece that I found on Pinterest this was the first piece I wanted to try and model but with my skills on Maya I was quite nervous but to be honest I’m really happy with the outcome, I think I’ve picked up on a lot from the floating city project.

Reference- Info below-

dough

Development-

Tree-

20

Hot Dog Cart- When I was creating my brainstorm page in the last post (Research and Animatic) I began thinking of games and funfair goodies that would be found within the park one included a hot dog stand. This didn’t come out quite how I liked but I’m still happy with the result. I wanted to test myself by not using a reference photo for this model and also to really test my Maya abilities.

Development Process-

Shake Shack- This was then the next piece the Milkshake Diner. As I’ve experienced this shape before in Maya I had a good understanding of the basic shape and that really helped me in creating this building. I thought it would go really well with the Doughnut shop.

Reference-Info Below-

Cafe

Development Process-

Fences- For the fence I wanted to keep it simple so I used the fence outside of my house as a reference to get the basic shape which consists of a elongated square with divisions, after this I used the bridge tool to connect the faces to make the fence. *This in the end didn’t make it in the short but it was still fun to make.

Development Process-

Burger Joint- Again I think the rule of threes is good here with the two previous models, I thought adding a little burger Joint would be cute and fitting.

Reference-Info below-

22

Development Process-

Benches- Again with the bench I used previous experiences with the floating city project and applied previous knowledge to the existing model. To be honest I like the other model I made for floating city better but I’m still happy with the outcome.

Development Process-

Fountain- Here I wanted to add more to the park aspect of the animated short so I looked into a low poly fountain and found the example below which I love because its really simple and goes with the other items.

Reference-Info Below-

13

Development Process-

Circus Tents- The wee circus tent was by far my favourite it came out really cute and adorable and fitted well within the environment that I created earlier.

Reference-Info Below-

14

Development Process-

Picnic Bench- This turned out to be really cute in front of the shops/stalls, as well I placed little Frisbee’s on the bench to add into the little details.

Reference- Info-Below-

17

Development Process-

Frisbee-

Reference- Info Below-

frisbee

Development Process-

Duck Shooting Game- This was possible the hardest to model due to the little bench at the front I was unsure how I was going to achieve this in the start but I eventually got there.

Reference- Info Below-

2Development Process-

Bottle Toss- The bottle toss design is something that I made from memory, overall I like the outcome but would change a few things if I were to re-do this model in the future. The bottle shine again when rendered was really nice.

Development Process-

Fountain #2 This is a piece I done for practice really and also to have an option in case the group didn’t like the other model.*This again never made it into the Animated Short.

Development Process-

Gazebo- The gazebo is made from one polygon which is a square, 4 spheres and text I’m really happy with this outcome. When we set up the scene I would love to add in some of the other assets to bulk it out. *Didn’t make it in the animated short.

Development Process-

Below are all of the references that I used to create some of the models above, to me these pieces were so inspiring and I learned a lot in trying to create these models.

Reflection-

Looking back at this post I was extremely nervous on starting the modelling as I wasn’t 100 percent sure on if we were allowed to use references or not after asking my mentor and several friends on if this was okay or not they all replied yes as long as you haven’t tried to state that another artists work is your own which I haven’t at all through this post, every image that was used was carefully referenced back to the source that I had found.

After I got over this anxiety I got to work and tried to model the references accordingly but as my Maya skills aren’t up to par yet I tried my best but to be honest I really liked what I modelled and I hope the group does as well as my assets are the environment of the scene apart from a few of Caitlin’s which are the Ferris Wheel, the Car isle  and a Pine tree.

Overall I really like the modelling stage and with constant work over the summer I would love to start designing my own assets but I will definitely have to work on my drawing as I lack ability here. So far the modelling has been the most exciting part to me and I can’t wait to start practising over the summer.

Reference-

 

 

 

Leave a comment