Motion Graphics Artists !

To begin this project I began looking at different types of motion graphics such as explainer videos, product marketing, UI animations, Icons, logos, short films, titles (Movie & Film), presentations, showreels, infographics, Gifs and broadcasting. As you can  see there is many ways in which motion graphics come into play and are used in many different formats. I never thought about this before and now I’m excited to do this project, I think I’m leaning towards titles for televisions (I would love to create one for supernatural’s title sequence), icons and logos.

Reference-https://motion-ux.com/types-of-motion-graphics-5f921cd0d4ac

Below are a few links that I’ve added on 100 examples from various artists exploring various concepts and various formats with motion graphics. From this list below I will be selecting various artists that I hope to take inspiration from for my own indent later on in the project.

Artists for reference-

  1. Bananas by Xander Marritt and Elias Freiberger.- https://vimeo.com/171576283
  2. Game of Thrones:An Animated Journey by Blackmeal- https://vimeo.com/108210854
  3. I ❤ Camping by Monolouge and George Zestanakis- https://vimeo.com/46616230
  4. Cinematics by Pier Paolo- https://vimeo.com/86083265
  5. Subprime by Beeple- https://vimeo.com/4240369

The one I’ve selected below is a concept that I really loved the style, the movement and the overall concept of this piece which is called inspiration by Rafa Galeano – https://vimeo.com/68481134  it reminded me of the same process that I will also be experiencing throughout this project with the same principals of practice that the character within this piece is experiencing but probably ten times worse cause I never get anything right the first time.

banana

The first artist Xander and Elias don’t have a website and or instagram page all I could find was articles on there piece and a statement by Elias really changed my view on the piece as a whole as when I first watched the short I presumed it was for shock effect I didn’t think there was a true meaning behind this piece.

“Bananas don’t grow everywhere, but you can get them anywhere. A true icon of the fruit family, courtesy of the innovators at banana co. A natural wonder. A truth fantastic. Life creates and we react. Bananas is about the conscious and subconscious. Reality and surreality. A reflection of life, a personification of the immediacy in the way we conduct ourselves. This shit is Bananas.”-Elias

blackmeal

Blackmeal- http://www.blackmeal.com/blog/motion-design-2d/showreel/index.html

Blackmeals website is in French and there is no translation button to get it translated english so I could only view there content which I would highly recommend as there work from what I’ve seen is amazing very creative and beautiful colors being used. I provided above the link to there showreel of 2017 for research purposes.

I found there project Game of thrones and I really liked the style of this piece reminds me of vector art with the flat colors and design aspects.

Monologue and George’s piece was chosen through the movement I like the fluid movement from piece to piece was smooth and precise. I’m hoping to achieve this level of accuracy with my own project.

I included the piece on Cinematics due to the storyline. I really liked the theme of this project as it includes iconic sequences from iconic films that transition well with each other. What I intend with my own project is to have a story within my piece whether it be abstract or not I believe every piece has a story whether it is suggested or not.

The last one I included was for 3D aspects of it as I love modeling in 3D I like to keep all doors open but depending on schedules and time frames I’m not 100% sure I’ll have enough time to complete this task if I keep it on.

Reflection-

Reflecting back on this post and the ideas that have now been implemented into my final piece there will be no 3D aspects it will all be 2D as I need practice in this area and want to spend time developing my 2D skills. So far I’m happy with the outcome of my piece and have gotten great advice from Bob on how to improve certain areas of my project so far. The artists that I’ve researched above have helped me with understanding movement and what kind of movement that I would like with my own project. ( I would like my project to feel fluid and have a fast motion and so far I think I’ve completed what I’ve set out to do and I’m really happy with the outcome so far.)

Leave a comment