Personal Project- Continued Research

Artist’s Research Flat Design-

Tom Whalen-

Articles that have helped me along the way-

  1. https://3dtotal.com/news/general/creating-worlds-with-image-storytelling-techniques-by-arturo-gutirrez-concept-art-2d-composition-technique#article-arturo-gutierrez-offers-6-techniques-to
  2. https://medium.com/the-notice-board/storytelling-through-visual-expression-8f960bc47334
  3. https://www.digitalartsonline.co.uk/features/illustration/18-tips-for-telling-story-through-artwork/#4

Videos-

From looking at this artists work I have made a  attempt at this style and to be honest the process is longer than anything I’ve ever done but all in all I really liked the outcome and it was well worth the effort below are the references I used –

7CE79894-8920-4329-81DE-02A9037DA601

My piece –

9B884121-B167-489A-AEFF-84EEE3A28879

My second attempt-

IMG_1411

IMG_1413

I think this is where I really started to improve and honestly really started to love the process. Below I ventured off of the characters and focused more on the market as it is one of the key areas within my world, below are a few posters I created –

IMG_1422

IMG_1423

These were extremely fun to make and honestly are my new favorites I think I need to remind myself that this is suppose to be fun and not constantly compare myself to others and downgrade my work because I’ll never get anywhere if I keep that up.

I think for my next task I will continue on in trying to better my technique through more simpler objects that would either be found in the market or through residential areas.

Leave a comment