Personal Project- Aesthetic Research

This is the first artist I looked at in terms of style would be Tom Whalen who I found on this website – https://graphicmama.com/blog/famous-vector-artists-mind-blowing-portfolios/.

What drew me to this artist was the mention of vector art as this is a style I was aiming for when creating my artwork on the post previous to this. I really enjoy this art style as I believe it to be simple and concise, to me that is what I aim for when creating my art as I am able to create realistic but I prefer to spend numerous amount of hours on a single drawing but as I have multiple projects occurring at the same time this dedication is something I can’t take on at this stage as I am preoccupied.

So I decided to focus on an area of art I haven’t tried before and so far I am enjoying the process. Looking through various artists work I was able to compile enough knowledge to make a start.

Tom Whalenhttp://www.strongstuff.net/

Here is some of his posters he has created over the years to check out more click the link above I absolutely adore his work, I love the composition and the colours used are complementary to each other which makes the pieces stand out. To me it looks like he has only used a max of 5 colours per piece which again corresponds with what I was doing within the last post. ( What I aim to do is create my own colour palettes in the future through a technique Conann showed us in First Year.)

Chris Leavens– http://chrisleavens.com/

I really love surrealism art as I believe it can be interrupted in many ways, from experimenting with this art form last year I understand how difficult it can be to translate your ideas through this technique. But this artist has translated his ideas amazingly I absolutely love his style and the way he uses colour to tell a story is lovely if there even is one. I believe surrealism gives the viewer a chance to create their own story for the illustration even if there is one it gives them a chance to explore it further.

Jonathan Ball-

I found my next artist through an article on his work https://affinityspotlight.com/article/jonathan-ball-i-have-a-dark-sense-of-humour/ I’ve learned a lot about him through his studio that he co- founded http://pokedstudio.com/

 

I absolutely love this artists use of colour as I am naturally attracted to bright art. I like the futurist vibe of the artwork mixed with the vibrant colours and simple shapes. It was great to get a look at his studio and see all the great work you he’s done over the years.

Glen Infante – https://gleninfante.com/

Was the last digital artist I looked at as he is mostly known for his vector art which I find absolutely amazing. More can be seen on his website above as well as more information about his work as well as merch.

So to apply this style through procreate I researched into different ways in which I could make this happen as the artists above mainly used Illustrator as I only have had a short amount of times due to other projects I wanted to use a programme that wasn’t as difficult.

Through my research I was able to find flatting in procreate which I have been researching for a while as its quite similar to vector art just within a different program.

Videos I looked at include-

Leave a comment