Jump Cycle

To start of this post I will insert the link to video that I used to make the jump. This is the same video that was used within the class tutorial. Through this class I learned a lot more about animating that truly helped me through this exercise and will most defiantly will use within the future.

Video-

Image Reference-

JumpRef

First I did my block poses this wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be but was still a struggle slightly as these had to be exact to achieve the right look. Below is my blocking video-

After that I went through and started adding in betweens to the animation which was as bad what I did was slowed down the source video and looked closely at what I thought was moving through the figure-

Then I started focusing on timing this however I don’t think went overly well I think there is some improvements to be made.

Timing-

Final Versions-

Reflection-

I really liked this body mechanic exercise  the way that we were shown in class made this exercise simple enough I really liked the blocking technique that Alec had shown. I think this is how I’m going to approach animating in the future as this technique really clicked for me. I think my blocking and in betweens are okay I think I need to work on the timing a lot more but overall I’m happy with the outcome.

Leave a comment