Week 1- Build a World

Group- Me, Matthew, Jacob, Chloe, Juan

Our first project was to create a world among are group which contained 5 members . We then we would gather for are first group meeting. We each had so many different ideas that we flustered and confused on what direction we wanted to take this after a while we decided to combine all our ideas to an extent to create one ultimate world.

At our first meeting was Wednesday which gave us two days to complete work for the following meeting which was Friday. Our first meeting was complete chaos everyone had different ideas and due to only being new we were shy and it was hard to translate our ideas across but once we got started it became easier and everyone became more open with what they were thinking.Some of the ideas were good and creative especially Juan’s they were very unique and now thinking back I wish we had gone with one of them and was not to scared to take a chance.

My Initial Ideas and Concept art:

Sketchbook 1-Pages 1-16

Images used can be found at the sites written within my sketchbook and google images.

My ideas were inspired by my surroundings of my room as this is the first time I’ve had to create something of my own and I was quite hesitant and was hyper aware to what I was doing and I felt affected my work in playing it safe and not taking any chances.

Additional Sketches-

IMG_0160

Our group plan was to create a post apocalyptic underworld  where everybody now lived under the earth, our initial idea was for it to look like an Arabian cursive structure were all of the buildings and the infrastructure was made of sand. This lead us to do research on movies, video games and man-made structures made from sand or had sand featured within this really helped me when creating the look of the world.

Research;

Sketchbook 1- Pages 18-31

Images used can be found at the sites written  within the sketchbook and google images.

What I did was look into was many movies and also games that were suggested to me. This was to get a feel of what the other group members were making reference to as I don’t play games so I had no clue what they were talking about. To me this gave me an excuse to do further research as I love research and learning about new things.

Concept art for Sand World:

Sketchbook 1-Page 32

IMG_1006

Then we decided that the world was too basic and boring so we decided half way through to turn the land into large glaciers holding the cities but still underground. This gave us more of a chance to explore the world further and to add more aspects such as ice castles, crystals and igloos. Lucky enough I hadn’t gotten to the stage of creating much concept art as I was busy doing research apart from the one image above and then I quickly move through to the next stage.

Additional Sketches-

IMG_0162

Research on Ice and My concept sketches;

Sketchbook 1- Page 33-41

I actually don’t mind these sketches of course they could  be better but that’ll take time and practice. Also images used can be found on google.

Additional Sketches-

IMG_0163

This is a documentary on Petra that helped me through my research when looking at the sand concepts it gave me an insight to how they created these wonderful structures and also it inspired me to create my own.

Reflection- Week 1

  • As I am a foundation student I was made aware of the group work quite early on when I chose to do the 6 week section on animation at the end of my foundation year. I knew that their was going to be group work next year I just didn’t expect it to be a vast quantity of the course.
  • However I’ve actually really enjoyed working on the team as it gives you a chance to meet and learn from the other students who are extremely talented.
  • Looking back on the week I learned that group work is hard and is something that will need continuous work no matter what team you are placed on it is a skill that will have been developed as the year progresses.
  • I learned from this week different members talents/ preferences when it comes to research and actually creating the art. Chloe is a fantastic researcher, Juan is brilliant at illustrator, Matthew does really cool dot work (hard to explain) and Jacob was are secret weapon to me Jacob can do everything and being able to work to work with each one of them was an opportunity to learn more.
  • Are group as every other group had its problems but nothing that wasn’t fixable, we mainly had multiple discussions on what the world would actually look like.
  • Overall for the first week I really enjoyed the freedom to create whatever we wanted it gave us an opportunity to explore. Working in group wasn’t as hard as I expected it actually went quite well.

Leave a comment