Personal Project- City Inspiration Research

For this section of my project I will be researching cities on islands for my world. As my city is placed within an island I thought it would be best to do research on islands that are habitable by people to see how the land is structured and how life on an island is for reasons such as environments, wildlife and overall citizens.

I have done research on the following islands, Procida, Palawan, Santorini, Capri, Sardinia, Ischia, Amalfi, Racamadour, Ronda and Firá and Oia.

Below are some reference photos I’ve selected for inspiration (All photos can be found on google).-

I hope these photos will aid me in the creation of my island as this style of architecture is where I will be getting my main inspiration from. As my island was formed from several places the mixed architecture is perfect for my land as I want different cultures coming to represent how much the world has changed after the nuclear explosions.

What I hope to do is a 3D model of my island on Maya hopefully I can do this as I would like to practice my modelling over the break.

Leave a comment