Walk Cycle

To start this post I would like to explain that I did a practice piece trying to get an understanding of the rig and the controls as expected for a beginner this did not go well. Class on Monday wasn’t successful nor did I think it would be, I knew that my walk cycle that I had produced was atrocious which was confirmed by Alec during and after the lecture when I showed Alec my walk cycle. At first I was reluctant to show Alec as I knew I wasn’t successful in this task as I had made all of the beginner mistakes which is too be expected as I’ve never moved this rig before but if I didn’t I wouldn’t have known how to correct my problem.

Below is a play blast of my first attempt-

As I’ve continued on working with this rig I’ve realised that I’m not getting into the animating of the rig. I think I’ve improved slightly however I think I’m still not getting it right.

Second Attempt –

This is slightly better I think but I need to go over the graph editor to correct a lot of the speed when it switches legs it practically jumps forward and the left leg swings weirdly.

Third Attempt-

I think I’ve fixed these slightly but there is much improvement to be made as it looks slightly robotic.

I’ve also looked at graph editor videos to get a better understanding on how the graph editor works.-

This video also helped me-

Walk Cycle Attempt number 4-

Revisted-

This is my final version I’m actually really proud of this as it took me the most time as I’ve explained before I’m not very good at animating but I gave it my all.

Reflection-

I think my cycle looks terrible and I’m honestly disappointed in myself because I’ve been working on this for weeks and I still am no further forward. If I was to re-do this exercise I think I would try and animate her on the spot instead of moving her from one place to the next I think thats what’s set me up for failure cause when I tired to loop it it went right back and didn’t look as good as I thought it was going too if I had the time I would re do it completely. Overall I love the exercise I just wish I was better at animating.

Leave a comment